• I’ve almost finished Dark Age and my god what a ride! Books like this remind me why I love reading.
•
I can’t imagine how this series is going to be wrapped up in the next book🙈
•
I plan on finishing it off today and then going baking with my favourite person💕
•
There’s an unboxing of the @fairyloot July box on my blog (link in bio✌🏻)
•
#qotd - favourite kind of cake?
•
#book #bookblogger #blogger #bookish #bookishbox #fairyloot #brunching #ladieswhobrunch #bookstagram #bookstagrammer
  • A day spent in joggers with a good book is always a day well spent.
•
Well, I did spend the morning ripping apart the house whilst tidying and clearing out 😂
•
A little holiday purchase here. I’ve lusted after @diptyque products for ageees before I took the plunge.
•
A little write up of the Vetyverio perfume is now up on my blog (link in bio✌🏻)
•
#blogger #beauty #beautyblogger #diptyque #perfume #bloggerlife #bloggersofinstagram
  • Who knew sipping cocktails all day and night would stop you reading as much?😂🍹
•
A bit of a slower reading month but I had a lot of fun and a really good relax on holiday!
•
Only 17 days till the next one with my favourite person💕
•
My July reading Wrap Up is now up on my blog (link in bio✌🏻)
•
#book #bookblogger #blogger #bookstagram #bookstagrammer #bookish #wrapup #holiday #manga #fantasy #scifi #contemporary
  • Spending a day on the couch again but for much less happy reasons. I am the worst patient when I’m ill 😭
•
On a happier note I’m thrilled to be part of the blog tour for A Chain Against the Dawn by @drewwilliamsirl
•
What an amazing novel! Think Illuminae meets Guardians of the Galaxy😍
•
There’s a full review up on my blog (link in bio✌🏻)
•
#book #bookblogger #bookstagram #bookstagrammer #bookish #blogger #blogtour #achainacrossthedawn #drewwilliams #scifi #bookshelf #booknerdigans
  • I am not moving from the couch today😂
•
I have Netflix on, a tea and a blanket...what more could you need?☕️
•
There’s a new post up...another Seraph of the End review😂 (Link in bio✌🏻)
•
#book #bookblogger #bookish #blogger #bookreview #manga #bookstagram #bookstagrammer #bookshelf #seraphoftheend #viz #vizmedia #bookobsessed
  • What a wonderful day yesterday 😍
•
And another planned tonight!🍸
•
There’s a review up of THAT Chanel Bronzer (Link in bio✌🏻)
•
The holiday purchases now making their way onto the blog 🙊
•
#blog #blogger #beautyblogger #beauty #chanel #chanelmakeup #bronzer #makeup #creambronzer #soleiltandechanel #review
  • Can’t wait to head back to Ville Franche next year with my favourite person.
•
Boat loads of wine and snazzy bruschetta 👏🏻
•
There’s a little TBR up for the NEWTs read-a-thon up on my blog (link in bio✌🏻)
•
QOTD: Have you got a favourite city abroad?
•
#book #bookblogger #blogger #villefranche #travel #holiday #vacation #travelblogger #bookstagram #bookstagrammer #newtsreadathon2019
  • Off to Southport today with some of my favourite people💕
•
Pass me the fish and chips🍟
•
There’s a new review of Volume Fourteen of Seraph of the End up on my blog (link in bio✌🏻)
•
QOTD: What makes you think of the seaside?🍭🧜🏻‍♀️🐟
•
#blogger #book #bookblogger #bookish #bookstagram #bookstagrammer #bookreview #bookshelf #manga #qotd #dateday #seaside #seraphofthend
  • Still playing a little bit of catch up with content I had planned...
•
Admittedly, spending two weeks drinking cocktails was well worth it😏
•
Tomorrow I’m off to Southport with Sam and some friends, then this weekend we’re off into Manchester for food and a night out🙊
•
There’s a review up of Seraph of the End Volume Thirteen (Link in bio✌🏻)
•
QOTD: What are your plans this weekend?
•
#book #bookblogger #blogger #bookish #bookstagram #bookstagrammer #bookshelf #manga #bookreviewer #seraphoftheend #datenight
  • I’m back after a semi unplanned little hiatus😂
•
Halfway through my holiday I just started to enjoy the slight disconnect from socials...then I had to unpack.
•
Anyone who knows me, knows I don’t travel light😂
•
Anywaaay, I have returned with a review of The Girl in Red by Christina Henry...WHAT A BOOK.
•
QOTD: Are you an over-packer, under-packer or just right?🙊
•
#book #bookblogger #blogger #bookish #bookreview #books #bookstagram #bookstagrammer #bookshelf #review #thegirlinred #christinahenry #fantasy #holiday #vacation #qotd
  • Just about to head down for dinner🤤
•
One things for sure, you never go hungry on a @royalcaribbeanuk cruise!😂
•
There’s also a new review up of Seraph of the End Volume Twelve (Link in bio✌🏻)
•
#book #blogger #bookblogger #bloggersofinstagram #bookish #bookstagram #bookstagrammer #holiday #vacation #cruise #manga #seraphoftheend
Books Reviews Young Adult Fiction

Sunflowers in February* by Phyllida Shrimpton

March 2, 2018

I got so excited when I saw an e-mail for this book in my inbox. It sounded fantastic and described as being ideal for fans of John Green and the Lovely Bones. Admittedly, I've never read the Lovely Bones book but the film was incredible... I will read it eventually.

Lily wakes up and the first thing she sees is her own body at the side of the road. At first she has no idea whats going on but when the police and ambulance arrive she quickly realises she's dead. But whats she meant to do now? Surely people are supposed to cross over. Only, Lily doesn't and doesn't really want to. 

I absolutely loved this. If I didn't have other commitments I would've read it in one day. Definite trigger warning for grief but I felt it was handled very sensitively. Lily, herself, appeared to be dealing with grief at the loss of her own life, understandably. At the start of the novel she ruminated a lot on what she couldn't do anymore and how she instead had to watch others continue with the life she should've had. However, over the course of the novel her character had such growth. It showed the different effects grief had on people, namely her friends, mother, father and twin brother Ben. The latter just so happened to be the person she possessed...

I've noticed I tend to enjoy contemporary novels that have a bit of a twist on the normal. The use of the 'twin bond' in this book fit into that category perfectly. Admittedly, at times Lily having to deal with being in Ben's body made me a little uncomfortable, like the swimming pool locker room incident. However, I thought that it was a very clever way to allow Lily and her family to say goodbye properly. 

The plot was tight and made sense however it felt a little like the end just appeared out of nowhere. I guess because I just wanted this book to continue. 

This book certainly gets you in the feels. 

INFO

Name: Sunflowers in February*

Author(s): Phyllida Shrimpton

Publisher: Hot Key

Pages: 374

ISBN: 978-1-4714-0688-1

Rating: 4/5

Have you read Sunflowers in February?

What did you think?

Thank-you for reading,

Katie x

    Leave a Reply