Latest Posts

Pan Macmillan Roadshow 2018

As always, a huge thank-you to Pan Macmillan for hosting and inviting me to such a fun and lovely event. It's always a pleasure to see everyone at these events, from the authors to publishers and of course my fellow booksellers and bloggers. I think this may have been one of my favourite events I've been to so far. It's not every day that a publisher orders a raft of dominoes pizza for you! I always end up with a phone full of notes, full of wine and with many new friends at these Roadshows. It's wonderful. A big thank-you to the two lovely authors I met as well. Elizabeth and Marianne. It was a pleasure to talk with you both and I can't wait to dive into your books.

Help Me by Marianne Powers

The minute Marianne started reading from her book I knew I was going to love it, simply because it's relatable. Everyone has picked up a self help book, read a magazine article or pinned a quote on Pinterest in the attempt to 'better' themselves. Half the time it works for about a week and then I'm back with my hand stuck down a tube of Pringles laughing the face of the kale currently occupying my fridge. I'm so excited to finish this one off, I have a funny feeling that it's the self help book I've needed.

 

Into the Jungle by Katherine Rundell

A beautiful illustrated companion to Kipling's Jungle Book set to release by a wonderful author. I can't wait to see this in full colour! I adore all of Katherine Rundell's works, they're all so beautiful and this is no exception. The Jungle Book was also one of my favourite disney films growing up.

You can find the Goodreads page here.

The Skylarks’ War by Hilary McKay

I haven't read a great deal of historical fiction, and I've read even less children's historical fiction but I loved the sound of this one and how pretty is this proof? Set during World War One this book tells the story of Clary, a young girl that spends the summer with her brothers until they head back to boarding school and is then alone with her absentee father.

You can find the Goodreads page here.

Enchantee by Gita Trelease

Then we received a sampler of upcoming YA novel Enchantee, perfect for fans of Caraval. I adore any novels set in France, particularly those with a fantasy element. I can't wait to read the full length novel when it comes out. Oh, and this is another historical one! Set in 18th Century Paris during the outbreak of the small pox.

You can find the Goodreads page here.

The Doll Factory by Elizabeth MacNeal

This book sounds wonderfully beautiful but also very haunting. I was captivated when Elizabeth was reading, I felt as though I'd been transported to 19th Century London. The writing is stunning, the book looks beautiful and Elizabeth herself is just a delight to talk to. We spoke about all things books, hoarding and of course, history. For those that aren't aware I'm a history enthusiast. I love learning about it. I feel like I'm going to learn an awful lot reading this too!

You can find the Goodreads page

.

This Really Isn’t About You by Jean Hannah Edelstein

I've been wanting to read more non-fiction for a while and theres something incredibly interesting about memoirs. I suppose it's the inherent nosiness of humans that we want to look into other peoples lives. This memoir I suspect is going to be very raw and emotion considering the topic matter. Jean finds out that her father has cancer and six weeks later he dies, she then finds out she too has that particular gene.

You can find the Goodreads page here.

Again I'd like to say a massive thank-you to Pan Macmillan, and specifically Andy for such a wonderful evening!

Do any of the books I've mentioned take you're fancy?

Thank-you for reading,

Katie x

Follow:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *