• Off into Manchester once again to meet one of my favourite people for some lunch🍕
•
And to pick up a final few holiday bits! Not long now 💕
•
There’s a review of Good Omens up on my blog (link in bio✌🏻)
•
Myself and @sam_g_oldham binge watched the show too and my god it’s good!
•
#qotd - what is your go to Pizza?
•
#bookstagram #bookstagrammer #book #bookblogger #blogger #bookreview #booknerd #bookish #goodomens #manchester #pizzaday #bookshelf #bloggersofinstagram
  • Mild radio silence for a few days...I was so caught up in Dark Age!
•
Well I’ve now finished it and I’m not entirely sure what to do with myself now...😭
•
Tonight I’m off to see my favourite person and watch more Mindhunter! We’re rewatching the first season atm💕
•
There’s also a raft of new posts up on my blog including a little look at some of my random holiday purchases.
•
#qotd: what book gave you the biggest hangover?
•
#bookstagram #bookstagrammer #bookish #book #bookblogger #blogger #travelblogger #travel #bloggerlife #reeddiffuser #teaenthusiast
  • I’ve almost finished Dark Age and my god what a ride! Books like this remind me why I love reading.
•
I can’t imagine how this series is going to be wrapped up in the next book🙈
•
I plan on finishing it off today and then going baking with my favourite person💕
•
There’s an unboxing of the @fairyloot July box on my blog (link in bio✌🏻)
•
#qotd - favourite kind of cake?
•
#book #bookblogger #blogger #bookish #bookishbox #fairyloot #brunching #ladieswhobrunch #bookstagram #bookstagrammer
  • A day spent in joggers with a good book is always a day well spent.
•
Well, I did spend the morning ripping apart the house whilst tidying and clearing out 😂
•
A little holiday purchase here. I’ve lusted after @diptyque products for ageees before I took the plunge.
•
A little write up of the Vetyverio perfume is now up on my blog (link in bio✌🏻)
•
#blogger #beauty #beautyblogger #diptyque #perfume #bloggerlife #bloggersofinstagram
  • Who knew sipping cocktails all day and night would stop you reading as much?😂🍹
•
A bit of a slower reading month but I had a lot of fun and a really good relax on holiday!
•
Only 17 days till the next one with my favourite person💕
•
My July reading Wrap Up is now up on my blog (link in bio✌🏻)
•
#book #bookblogger #blogger #bookstagram #bookstagrammer #bookish #wrapup #holiday #manga #fantasy #scifi #contemporary
  • Spending a day on the couch again but for much less happy reasons. I am the worst patient when I’m ill 😭
•
On a happier note I’m thrilled to be part of the blog tour for A Chain Against the Dawn by @drewwilliamsirl
•
What an amazing novel! Think Illuminae meets Guardians of the Galaxy😍
•
There’s a full review up on my blog (link in bio✌🏻)
•
#book #bookblogger #bookstagram #bookstagrammer #bookish #blogger #blogtour #achainacrossthedawn #drewwilliams #scifi #bookshelf #booknerdigans
  • I am not moving from the couch today😂
•
I have Netflix on, a tea and a blanket...what more could you need?☕️
•
There’s a new post up...another Seraph of the End review😂 (Link in bio✌🏻)
•
#book #bookblogger #bookish #blogger #bookreview #manga #bookstagram #bookstagrammer #bookshelf #seraphoftheend #viz #vizmedia #bookobsessed
  • What a wonderful day yesterday 😍
•
And another planned tonight!🍸
•
There’s a review up of THAT Chanel Bronzer (Link in bio✌🏻)
•
The holiday purchases now making their way onto the blog 🙊
•
#blog #blogger #beautyblogger #beauty #chanel #chanelmakeup #bronzer #makeup #creambronzer #soleiltandechanel #review
  • Can’t wait to head back to Ville Franche next year with my favourite person.
•
Boat loads of wine and snazzy bruschetta 👏🏻
•
There’s a little TBR up for the NEWTs read-a-thon up on my blog (link in bio✌🏻)
•
QOTD: Have you got a favourite city abroad?
•
#book #bookblogger #blogger #villefranche #travel #holiday #vacation #travelblogger #bookstagram #bookstagrammer #newtsreadathon2019
  • Off to Southport today with some of my favourite people💕
•
Pass me the fish and chips🍟
•
There’s a new review of Volume Fourteen of Seraph of the End up on my blog (link in bio✌🏻)
•
QOTD: What makes you think of the seaside?🍭🧜🏻‍♀️🐟
•
#blogger #book #bookblogger #bookish #bookstagram #bookstagrammer #bookreview #bookshelf #manga #qotd #dateday #seaside #seraphofthend
  • Still playing a little bit of catch up with content I had planned...
•
Admittedly, spending two weeks drinking cocktails was well worth it😏
•
Tomorrow I’m off to Southport with Sam and some friends, then this weekend we’re off into Manchester for food and a night out🙊
•
There’s a review up of Seraph of the End Volume Thirteen (Link in bio✌🏻)
•
QOTD: What are your plans this weekend?
•
#book #bookblogger #blogger #bookish #bookstagram #bookstagrammer #bookshelf #manga #bookreviewer #seraphoftheend #datenight
Blog Tours Books Fantasy Reviews

Breaking the Lore* Blog Tour

May 19, 2019

**I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for participation in the blog tour**

"Book Blurb: A magical, mischievous mystery perfect for fans of Douglas Adams and Ben Aaronovitch

How do you stop a demon invasion... when you don’t believe in magic?

Inspector Nick Paris is a man of logic and whisky. So staring down at the crucified form of a murder victim who is fifteen centimetres tall leaves the seasoned detective at a loss… and the dead fairy is only the beginning.

Suddenly the inspector is offering political asylum to dwarves, consulting with witches, getting tactical advice from elves and taking orders from a chain-smoking talking crow who, technically, outranks him.

With the fate of both the human and magic worlds in his hands Nick will have to leave logic behind and embrace his inner mystic to solve the crime and stop an army of demons from invading Manchester!"

 

A huge thank you to Canelo Publishing for sending a copy over and asking me to take part in this blog tour.

What a joy to read. From beginning to end this book had me smiling and giggling. From the wonderfully corny puns to a dwarf unable to get Nick Paris' name right.

It's rare that I enjoy or will even consider picking up a crime novel but the synopsis of this one had me sold. I loved Rivers of London and from the comparison, I knew I'd enjoy this. The plot moves with a good pace and you're never quite sure what the turn of the page is going to bring. It could be a run of the mill nutjob or a talking crow...This kept me hooked.

The characters were so fun but my favourite was definitely Malbus the talking crow. He had a penchant for ciggarettes and wine gums. Had some of the best lines in the book and just made me smile every time he was on the page.

I hope there's going to be more books with these characters. They're a rare find.

 

INFO

Name: Breaking the Lore*

Author: Andy Redsmith

Publisher: Canelo

Pages: 321

ISBN: 9781788633079

Rating: 4/5

Links to Book:

Amazon (UK)

Kobo (UK)

Google Books (UK)

Apple Books (UK)

Author Bio:

Andy Redsmith was born in Liverpool and grew up in Runcorn. For university he moved the enormous distance to Salford and has lived in Manchester ever since. He says the people there are great, but we don’t talk about football.

He worked for many years as a project manager in the computing industry, a job which really is every bit as exciting as it sounds. Eventually the call of writing became too hard to ignore and he went off to do that instead. Over the years in IT he worked with some very clever people and some complete weirdos, none of whom bear any resemblance to the characters in his books. Honest.

He has a wonderful wife, a great son, and a loft full of old Marvel comics. One day he’ll get round to selling them. That’s the comics, not the family.

Have you read Breaking the Lore*?

What did you think?

Thank you for reading,

Katie x

  • Reply
    Andy Redsmith
    May 19, 2019 at 12:56 pm

    Hi,
    I can’t find your email address, so I’m sending a message through here. Just wanted to say thanks very much for taking part in the Breaking the Lore blog tour. Much appreciated!
    Regards,
    Andy Redsmith

    • Reply
      Katie - A Novel Idea
      May 20, 2019 at 3:19 pm

      Thank you so much! I loved the book.

      Katie x

Leave a Reply