Blog Tours,  Books,  Fantasy,  Reviews

Breaking the Lore* Blog Tour

**I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for participation in the blog tour**

"Book Blurb: A magical, mischievous mystery perfect for fans of Douglas Adams and Ben Aaronovitch

How do you stop a demon invasion... when you don’t believe in magic?

Inspector Nick Paris is a man of logic and whisky. So staring down at the crucified form of a murder victim who is fifteen centimetres tall leaves the seasoned detective at a loss… and the dead fairy is only the beginning.

Suddenly the inspector is offering political asylum to dwarves, consulting with witches, getting tactical advice from elves and taking orders from a chain-smoking talking crow who, technically, outranks him.

With the fate of both the human and magic worlds in his hands Nick will have to leave logic behind and embrace his inner mystic to solve the crime and stop an army of demons from invading Manchester!"

 

A huge thank you to Canelo Publishing for sending a copy over and asking me to take part in this blog tour.

What a joy to read. From beginning to end this book had me smiling and giggling. From the wonderfully corny puns to a dwarf unable to get Nick Paris' name right.

It's rare that I enjoy or will even consider picking up a crime novel but the synopsis of this one had me sold. I loved Rivers of London and from the comparison, I knew I'd enjoy this. The plot moves with a good pace and you're never quite sure what the turn of the page is going to bring. It could be a run of the mill nutjob or a talking crow...This kept me hooked.

The characters were so fun but my favourite was definitely Malbus the talking crow. He had a penchant for ciggarettes and wine gums. Had some of the best lines in the book and just made me smile every time he was on the page.

I hope there's going to be more books with these characters. They're a rare find.

 

INFO

Name: Breaking the Lore*

Author: Andy Redsmith

Publisher: Canelo

Pages: 321

ISBN: 9781788633079

Rating: 4/5

Links to Book:

Amazon (UK)

Kobo (UK)

Google Books (UK)

Apple Books (UK)

Author Bio:

Andy Redsmith was born in Liverpool and grew up in Runcorn. For university he moved the enormous distance to Salford and has lived in Manchester ever since. He says the people there are great, but we don’t talk about football.

He worked for many years as a project manager in the computing industry, a job which really is every bit as exciting as it sounds. Eventually the call of writing became too hard to ignore and he went off to do that instead. Over the years in IT he worked with some very clever people and some complete weirdos, none of whom bear any resemblance to the characters in his books. Honest.

He has a wonderful wife, a great son, and a loft full of old Marvel comics. One day he’ll get round to selling them. That’s the comics, not the family.

Have you read Breaking the Lore*?

What did you think?

Thank you for reading,

Katie x

2 Comments

  • Andy Redsmith

    Hi,
    I can’t find your email address, so I’m sending a message through here. Just wanted to say thanks very much for taking part in the Breaking the Lore blog tour. Much appreciated!
    Regards,
    Andy Redsmith

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *