Apocalypti Girl

The moment I read the synopsis of this graphic novel I knew I'd love it. My only complaint is I wish there was more material. I loved this so much, so when I got to the end I had a bit of an 'oh. It's over' moment. It seemed to end so quickly. 

The plot was easy to follow and enjoyable. Aria has been sent to earth in order to find an ancient relic and only once she has found it can she return home. Helping her along her adventure is a cat named Jelly Beans. Honestly, I think Jelly Beans was my favourite part of this novel. He doesn't talk, doesn't do much but gives Aria the side-eye throughout the story. How can one furball be so sassy?

There was no explanation of where, when or what the world was but it wasn't needed. The panels gave us all that information. On some pages there were no words but the story still continued. Sometimes I find with graphic novels that a wordless page doesn't really do anything - its simply there for being there. But with Apocalypti Girl every image pushed the story. 

Overall, I think this is a fantastic graphic novel. Perfect for fans of Nimona and Rat Queens. 

Info

Name: Apocalypti Girl 

Author: Andrew McLean

Publisher: Dark Horse

Pages: 88

ISBN: 978-1-61655-566-5

Rating: 4/5

Have you read Apocalypti Girl?

What did you think?

Thank-you for reading, 

Katie x 

Follow:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *