• On a rare Saturday off my favourite person and I ventured off to Ikea on a furniture hunt.
•
Did we get furniture? No. But I do now have new lamps and a very cool teapot.
•
Ah the power of IKEA.
•
There’s a review up of This Cruel Design on my blog (link in bio✌🏻)
•
#qotd - IKEA meatballs, yay or nay?
•
#bookstagram #bookstagrammer #bookish #bookreview #bookreviewer #bookblogger #blogger #book #ya #yascifi #thiscrueldesign #ikea #ikeatrip
  • Well and truly a victim of the plane lurgy😂
•
A night of netflix and tea for me.
•
I’m thinking about starting the Dark Crystal tonight too.
•
There’s a review up of This Mortal Coil by @emily.suvada which I adored! •
And there’s a little recommend post up for the Slytherins out there (Link in bio✌🏻)
•
#qotd - what superpower would you want?
•
#bookstagram #bookstagrammer #bookish #bookblog #bookblogger #blogger #ya #yalit #yascifi #bookreview #bookshelf #thismortalcoil #emilysuvada
  • I am wrapped up in a blanket and determined to finish Supermarket by Bobby Hall! I have about ten pages left😱
•
But this headache is making it so difficult 😫
•
There’s a new review up on my blog (link in bio✌🏻)
•
#qotd - how do you deal with headaches. I need help😂
•
#bookstagram #bookstagrammer #bookish #bookblog #bookblogger #blogger #bookreview #scifi #thelongwaytoasmallangryplanet #beckychambers
  • All unpacked and getting back on track with little jobs, posts and also going back to Uni....
•
Before Sam and I went away I fully intended to keep posting on my blog and on here.
•
That really didn’t end up happening and the little digital break was so nice☺️
•
Equally as nice to be back and there’s a full review of Dark Age by Pierce Brown up on my blog - be warned it’s full of spoilers 😂 (Link in bio✌🏻)
•
#qotd - Beach holiday or city break?
•
#bookstagram #bookstagrammer #bookblogger #blogger #bookish #bookshelf #darkage #piercebrown #redrising #scifi #book #books #bookworm
  • Home and nearly unpacked from an amazing ten days with this one💕
•
Now I need a brew and a nap😂
•
Can’t wait for the next adventure ✈️
•
#favouriteperson #couple #holiday #vacation #trip #blogger #travelblogger #palermo #sicily #monreale #bloggersofinstagram #bloggerlife
  • Half way through my last shift set before we go on holiday💕
•
I can’t wait to be in Sicily with my favourite person eating all the pasta and pizza.
•
I can’t wait to get some more sun and take lots and lots of pictures🙊
•
There’s a new post up on my blog (link in bio✌🏻) - the first in a new series: The Cruise Diaries🚢
•
#QOTD - last film you cried at?
•
#blogger #travelblogger #travel #holiday #vacation #bloggerlife #cruise #cruisediaries #royalcaribbeancruise #independenceoftheseas #royalcaribbean
  • Soon off to get my hair done...I don’t even want to acknowledge how bad my roots are again😂
•
Then meeting my favourite person for some drinks in our local💕
•
In the meantime I’m still in laptop mode contemplating how long it’s going to take me to write my Dark Age review🤦🏻‍♀️
•
There’s a significantly smaller review up of Seraph of the Age Volume Sixteen (Link in bio✌🏻)
•
#qotd: do you review everything you read?
•
#bookstagram #bookstagrammer #bookish #bookworm #bookblogger #blogger #book #bookreview #manga #seraphoftheend #vizmedia
  • #throwback to a lovely meal out at @common_bar with @felfiramoondesigns and @coffeeeyesandblankstares 💕
•
I could eat this again today🤤
•
#blogger #dayout #lunchdate #foodblogger #foodporn #eggsbenedict #bloggerlife #common #friendsandfood #foodie #foodphotography
  • Off into Manchester once again to meet one of my favourite people for some lunch🍕
•
And to pick up a final few holiday bits! Not long now 💕
•
There’s a review of Good Omens up on my blog (link in bio✌🏻)
•
Myself and @sam_g_oldham binge watched the show too and my god it’s good!
•
#qotd - what is your go to Pizza?
•
#bookstagram #bookstagrammer #book #bookblogger #blogger #bookreview #booknerd #bookish #goodomens #manchester #pizzaday #bookshelf #bloggersofinstagram
  • Mild radio silence for a few days...I was so caught up in Dark Age!
•
Well I’ve now finished it and I’m not entirely sure what to do with myself now...😭
•
Tonight I’m off to see my favourite person and watch more Mindhunter! We’re rewatching the first season atm💕
•
There’s also a raft of new posts up on my blog including a little look at some of my random holiday purchases.
•
#qotd: what book gave you the biggest hangover?
•
#bookstagram #bookstagrammer #bookish #book #bookblogger #blogger #travelblogger #travel #bloggerlife #reeddiffuser #teaenthusiast
  • I’ve almost finished Dark Age and my god what a ride! Books like this remind me why I love reading.
•
I can’t imagine how this series is going to be wrapped up in the next book🙈
•
I plan on finishing it off today and then going baking with my favourite person💕
•
There’s an unboxing of the @fairyloot July box on my blog (link in bio✌🏻)
•
#qotd - favourite kind of cake?
•
#book #bookblogger #blogger #bookish #bookishbox #fairyloot #brunching #ladieswhobrunch #bookstagram #bookstagrammer
Books Graphic Novel Reviews

Apocalypti Girl

September 13, 2017

The moment I read the synopsis of this graphic novel I knew I'd love it. My only complaint is I wish there was more material. I loved this so much, so when I got to the end I had a bit of an 'oh. It's over' moment. It seemed to end so quickly. 

The plot was easy to follow and enjoyable. Aria has been sent to earth in order to find an ancient relic and only once she has found it can she return home. Helping her along her adventure is a cat named Jelly Beans. Honestly, I think Jelly Beans was my favourite part of this novel. He doesn't talk, doesn't do much but gives Aria the side-eye throughout the story. How can one furball be so sassy?

There was no explanation of where, when or what the world was but it wasn't needed. The panels gave us all that information. On some pages there were no words but the story still continued. Sometimes I find with graphic novels that a wordless page doesn't really do anything - its simply there for being there. But with Apocalypti Girl every image pushed the story. 

Overall, I think this is a fantastic graphic novel. Perfect for fans of Nimona and Rat Queens. 

Info

Name: Apocalypti Girl 

Author: Andrew McLean

Publisher: Dark Horse

Pages: 88

ISBN: 978-1-61655-566-5

Rating: 4/5

Have you read Apocalypti Girl?

What did you think?

Thank-you for reading, 

Katie x 

    Leave a Reply